Happy birthday Potter

301386_full1.jpg
The boy who lived.

Harry James Potter. The boy who lived. The boy who has stolen a million hearts with the swish of a magic wand from Ollivander’s.

Well, no brownie points for guessing that I am an ardent fan of Harry Potter, and yes, my favorite author is J.K. Rowling. ‘Alohomora‘ is all she had to say to unlock the realms of my imagination. I have participated in several Harry Potter contests, celebrated his birthday by cutting a cake, read each book at least 20 times (and I am not exaggerating), watched the movie every time I was surfing the channels on television and the movie was playing (mostly on HBO), and BAE even planned a surprise Potter cake on my birthday. I’m as crazy as it can get when it comes to Harry Potter.

I have looked for platform 9 3/4 in every railway station I have visited, trying to find a child with a trolley and an owl walking into the walls. I have spent so many hours in Hogwarts. I bow to the Fat Lady every time I enter the Gryffindor Common Room! I have attended History of Magic, Charms and Herbology classes. I hated Snape and Potion classes. I have fought boggarts which looked like bandicoots at the Defence against the Dark Arts classes (Riddikulus!), and my Patronus looks like a silver white horse. I have played plenty of Quidditch tournaments and my eyes always look for the Snitch. I have had secret conversations with the merpeople during the Triwizard tournament. I have danced at the Yule Ball. I abhorred going to the Dursley’s during summer.

“After all this time? Always.”

Yes, its been 20 long years! I still read Harry Potter when I am upset. It calms me down. It occludes the thoughts that bother me.

My mind conjures several images when I stand in front of the Mirror of Erised. I often wonder what I would find when I walk into the Room of Requirement. I have pointed my wand at Bellatrix Lestrange and shouted ‘Expelliarmus” so many times, if only I could save Sirius. But the spell did not work. It was as though I had dipped my head into the Pensieve, nobody could see or hear me. I wish I had not given my word to the Headmaster and instead I could drink the Emerald Potion at the Horcrux Cave!

I have learnt to be good and fight against the evil. I have accepted the fact that life is not always fair. I have learnt to fight against all odds when I am on my own.  I have learnt to be brave. I have learnt not to judge people by their behavior. I have learnt to spread love.

Oh! There are so many magical moments and so many conversations and so many people I haven’t spoken about yet. I need a Portkey to bring me back to this Muggle World!

I know that all Potter maniacs reading this have some thoughts running in their mind! I wish I had Extendable Ears to know! Go ahead and scribble away in the comments box! It could be anything related to Harry Potter! Absolutely anything.

Here are some prompts for the comment!

  • The name of the Harry Potter book/movie which you like the most.
  • Who is the character you admire the most and why?
  • Favorite dialogue in the movie!
  • The spell which you chant the most.
  • That nail-biting scene which has intrigued you!
  • What was the most evil crime committed by Voldemort according to you?
  • If you were to choose to take home one of Hagrid’s pets, which one would that be?
  • Why do you think J.K.Rowling is phenomenal?
  • You could add a comment to include a question here – and I will oblige!

Can’t wait to read what you have to say!

.

.

.

Accio Thoughts-of-the-reader! (Wand swish!)

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Happy birthday Potter

  1. So man y great questions! I’ll hit on a few of them (partly because the answers are somewhat interconnected). My favorite movie is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which I know is controversial because it’s probably the one that differed the most from the book, but I love it because I adore the Marauders. I love meeting Remus and discovering how Sirius isn’t the bad guy after all. It’s also the one Potter book that has virtually nothing to do with Voldemort, a fact I like because it’s different.

    I adore Rowling and think she’s a literary genius, not because she got millions of people to read her books and created a phenomenon any author would be jealous of, but because of its legacy. A few years back, there was a study done (http://theweek.com/speedreads/449053/study-finds-kids-who-read-harry-potter-books-become-more-tolerant-minority-groups) that proves that kids who grew up reading Harry Potter are more tolerant of minority groups and don’t stand for inequality. And that is a legacy that makes her amazing. Sure, she was/is one of the richest women in England, but she showed millions of children what compassion looks like, why favoring ‘pure-bloods’ over another group is unfair and discriminatory, and how to be a better person. That is amazing and why I will be reading Harry Potter to my children someday.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for taking time out to write about what you feel! Much appreciated! Thanks for sharing the link to the study, it is indeed a very interesting read. Yes, there are so many messages for children in the book, which are not imposed on you but is a quality that you will gradually imbibe if you appreciate the characters (which was something I was planning to talk about in another post) . The characters have been infused with life! And I love the way each character has been sketched! Rowling has so brilliantly shown that not every body is perfect. We all have our own limitations and yet can be wonderful people. Not all people who seem evil are bad – harsh realities of life where your image has been tainted by wrong-doers or for wrong reasons – referring to Sirius. I am glad we share the same passion for Harry Potter. Nice to meet you!

      Like

  2. Harry Potter ? I feel very happy whenever I see this name . Obviously, went through your blog post with lots of interest and curiosity. Well, I simply liked it . Great! Keep writing

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great post!
    My favorite book is obviously The Sorcerer’s Stone. There is just something awesome about the first book. My favorite movie? Well, the first one. But, I really enjoyed The Prisoner of Azkaban…I think that is how you spell the prison. 🙂
    Hermione is my favorite character. Why? Because she is a bookworm and smart. Girl power!!! Oh yeah!
    Favorite quote? “We could get killed…or worse, expelled.” That is Hermione’s quote, if you don’t know! Or, “When in doubt, go to the library.” That is Ron’s.
    Anyway, Harry Potter is just a great series! I love it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh yes! These dialogues are so well crafted! Love them! Especially when Ollivander says ‘I wonder’ when Harry is choosing his wand! I have a soft corner for the first book as well – and I have read it the maximum number of times! Agree its an awesome series! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The very mention of Harry Potter was enough to grab my attention. Ohhh I love this post. As I was reading this, I found myself nodding along. It’s so relatable. Harry Potter was not just a book series. It’s something much more than that. We grew up reading the books, experiencing the pleasures and occasional horrors of Hogwarts… It’s the one book that I have read and re-read numerous times and I can never get tired of it. My favourite book is the Sorcerer’s Stone. The character I admire the most is Hermione Granger. My favourite, however would be the twins – Fred and George. I was so heartbroken when Fred was murdered. Together, they have cooked up so much mischief. The scene in order of Phoenix where they made their Grand exit from Hogwarts is one of my favourites. 😍 “After all this time? Always”. When it comes to Harry Potter, there’s no off switch. 😁😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bingo! Can’t agree more! I wish I had Extendable Ears at times! The character sketch and dialogues are so full of life that you can never get bored of it. Also, whenever I read it for another time, I get a different perspective. I do want to punch Malfoy on his face at times, and hug Dumbledore. That is the beauty of this series! My head went up and down in affirmation while reading your comment too, there is no switch off button!

      Like

Leave a comment